Wednesday, October 28, 2009


THE PENINSULAR PLATEAU The peninsular plateau is the largest and the oldest of all the physiographic divisions. Its north-west limit is marked by the Aravalli range and its northern extreme has the raised Bundelkhand. At its western and eastern ends are the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats respectively. It has the shape of an inverted triangle.

The plateau can be divided as follows.
The Central Plateaus The Central Plateaus are the
upland of Central India with the River Ganga to its north, Vindhya and Satpura ranges to its south, the Kaimur­Maikal range to its east, and the Aravallis and Kutch to its west. The Central Plateaus comprise Mewar, Malwa and Vindhya plateaus. Malwa Plateau in Madhya Pradesh formed of lava flows lies to the north of the Vindhya range.

The Eastern Plateaus These lie to the north-east of the Malwa plateau. The topography of the Eastern Plateaus is diversified, ranging from the low-lying Mahanadi basin to undulating plateaus of the Baghelkhand, Chhota Nagpur and Dandakaranya. Beyond the lava-ridden Rajmahal Hills that form the eastern end of Chota Nagpur Plateau is the Meghalaya Plateau.

The Kathiawar and Kutch Plateaus
These plateaus are joined to the peninsular plateaus by Gujarat's plains. Deccan lavas make up the Kathiawar region, while the Kutch ha~ an abundance of tertiary rocks.

The Deccan Plateaus A triangular plateau, they OCCUp) land between the Western and 'Eastern Ghats and south 0 the Mahadeo, Maikal and Satpura ranges. The Deccar Plateaus comprise the Maharashtra Plateau (formed entirel) of basalt) and Karnataka and Telangana (Andhra) Plateaw (both composed of Archaean gneisses. Deccan Plateaus an India's largest plateaus.

No comments:

Post a Comment